scale steps

G Major Scale

  • by

The notes from the G major scale are G, A, B, C, D, E, and F#.  There’s one sharp note (F#), but all the rest of the notes are primary notes. That makes it easier to remember what notes make up the scale. Just start on G and go through the musical alphabet. We start on G- then A comes next (unless you’ve found the secret “H chord”), then B, C, and so on. The last note in the scale is the one with the sharp and that’s F# (or G flat if you prefer).

The 7th scale step in the major scale is always  a half step (or one fret) below the tonic.Read More »G Major Scale

The Major Scale

  • by

The major scale contains 7 notes and is the basic building block of all western music. It’s one of the most important things to learn… Read More »The Major Scale