Skip to content

G Major Scale Shape

Fig. 1: G Major Scale

The notes from the G major scale are G, A, B, C, D, E, and F#.  There’s one sharp note (F#), but all the rest of the notes are primary notes. That makes it easier to remember what notes make up the scale. Just start on G and go through the musical alphabet. We start on G- then A comes next (unless you’ve found the secret “H chord”), then B, C, and so on. The last note in the scale is the one with the sharp and that’s F# (or G flat if you prefer).

At this point you may realize that the 7th scale step in the major scale is always  a half step (or one fret) below the tonic.

Fig. 2: Extended G Major Scale

Fig. 3: G Pentatonic

Fig. 4: G Major/Pentatonic Comparison

The notes in parenthesis are the 4th and 5th scale steps we add to the pentatonic to create the major scale.